alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description

Author Topic: Hi  (Read 12205 times)

Offline Jim Hull

• New Contributor
Hi
« on: August 10, 2011, 09:59:06 AM »
Hello to everyone.  My name is Jim Hull and I live in Mattoon, IL.  I am a woodworker who is seriously developing an interest in getting a mill of my own.  I have access, with a buddy of mine, to a lot of trees (cherry, oak, walnut, ash, maple, etc.) and it looks like a lot of fun and hard work to saw our own lumber.  This buddy and I are in the process of doing much research as we consider this endeavor. You all seem to be a wealth of information, as I have been lurking for a little while.  I have also had the pleasure of meeting Kirk Allen and enjoyed the little time I got to spend with him.  I hope to gain more useful knowledge to help me make the best choice possible and then to learn as much as I can from all of you.

Offline Stevem

• Old Timers Club
Re: Hi
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2011, 10:40:59 AM »
Welcome to our little world of wood'n things.  Just a bunch of crazies that like to get slivers in their hands and sawdust in their socks. (My wife hates me on laundry day).

Just a note on sawmills.  Size (of the logs) matters.  What ever mill you decide on there's going to be a log just too big to saw without a lot of extra work.  All mills have there strong and weak points.  I have a swing mill (Lucas) and many times wish I had a band mill, or a regular carriage mill, or a dimension mill, or hydraulics attached.  The mill can become the cheapest part of any operation, support equipment can become addiction.

Look around and enjoy (or not) our little world of boards, beams, slabs and whatnot's.
Stevem