alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description

Author Topic: Can you crosscut with a bandsaw mill  (Read 29707 times)

Offline bbergami

• New Contributor
Can you crosscut with a bandsaw mill
« on: August 16, 2013, 08:19:59 AM »
Hi,
I'm fairly new to using a bandsaw mill. Is it safe to crosscut sections of a log if I can figure out a way to clamp them to the bed?

I was looking to make some stool tops. I know a chainsaw would be the quickest but the sawmill would make parallel cuts.

Thanks
Bert

Offline Post Oakie

• Major Contributor
  • Wonder, the "Log Dog"
Re: Can you crosscut with a bandsaw mill
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2013, 11:16:19 AM »
I've done it on my band sawmill.  First attempt was a disaster.  The log spun in the clamps pulled the blade off the bandwheels and bent the blade so badly I couldn't salvage it.  Four things to consider:
1. A good clamping system is critical
2. Use a blade with a 4 degree hook angle, if possible.  It is less likely to grab the log and dislodge it from the clamps.
3. Don't rush the cut.  Feed it slow, but use full throttle.
4. A good clamping system is critical.
Nothin' to it... nothin' to it, at all.  All a feller needs is a little brain and enough muscle to hold it off the ground.
Norwood MX34 Pro portable sawmill, 8N Ford, Lewis Winch

Offline bbergami

• New Contributor
« Reply #2 on: August 16, 2013, 02:00:44 PM »
Thanks for the quick reply...   I was afraid of exactly what you had happen to you. I've busted a couple of blades now and it will make you a bit jumpy. I'll have to come up with a good way to clamp it and give it a try.

Thanks

Offline HaroldCR - AKA Fla.-Deadheader

• Old Timers Club