alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description

Author Topic: Chain questions for a Stihl MS 390  (Read 15588 times)

Offline Vikings.37

• New Contributor
Chain questions for a Stihl MS 390
« on: April 11, 2015, 02:01:01 PM »
Hello forum geeks  :)
I am relatively new in wood working, when it comes to handling a chainsaw. Ive always been the one driving the tractor and handling the log splitter and so on, but now im on the saw too.
We cut down mostly Ash and Beech, and mostly up to like 18"-20" ( 45-50 cm ).
I have got a Stihl MS 390 from my dad, (always used husqvarna but a god damn burgler visitet me one night   >:( ) and im pretty satisfied with it. It came with a 16" bar and a 325 Oregon chain. We also have 2 Stihl MS 392 with 15" bar and 3/8 chain.
For me using the MS 390 i would like to go a size or even 2 up in bar size. Im thinking maybe 18". I like being able to reach thru the cord when cutting them down. Would my Stihl MS 390 be able to pull a 18" bar? And if yes, any suggestions about chains i want to use?
As it is now im using a 4.8 mm file and a simple device to sharpen tooth on the chain. Im considering to buy (i have one already, but thats some cheap shit) a machine to sharpen my chains. A good one.  Do you guys have any suggestions and experience with whats good?
Thank you very much  :)

Offline joasis

• Circle sawyer
  • Administrator
  • Senior Contributor
Re: Chain questions for a Stihl MS 390
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2015, 09:18:21 PM »
You can pull a 24 inch bar pretty safely, and as long as you keep the chain sharp, it will go like a hot knife.