alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description

Author Topic: new planer  (Read 29525 times)

Offline xlogger

• Major Contributor
new planer
« on: March 06, 2015, 06:26:50 PM »
Finally broke down and order a new planer, after looking at ones for over a year now. Got a 20" Jet with spiral head. I'm brand new to woodworking so I've got lots to learn. I cut a good bit of cedar with my TK and plan on doing most with that also maybe a little Walnut too. I've got a 8" jointer with a spiral head also. Now I'm going to try to figure out what the best for me on a router table.

Offline TnAndy

• Contributor
Re: new planer
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2015, 08:11:22 PM »
Is it a spiral blade, or individual teeth in a spiral ?

I converted my Sunhill 8x72 jointer to a spiral blade head about 10 years back. 

Been wanting a Grizzly planer with the individual carbide teeth in it....the ones you can turn 4 times with a new cutting edge on each.  I figure one set of teeth would probably last me the rest of my days !

Offline xlogger

• Major Contributor
« Reply #2 on: March 07, 2015, 04:00:17 AM »
It's like the Byrd head but the teeth are in a spiral, I think there are about 90 some teeth there that you turn 4 times. My jointer is the same only less teeth. Anyone here use a router table much? I'm looking at a Triton 3 1/4hp that you can change bits above the table without a router lift.

Offline Kirk Allen

• Administrator
  • Old Timers Club
  • In God We Trust!
    • Vindicator Nozzles
« Reply #3 on: March 07, 2015, 04:59:10 PM »
I have the 20 inch Grizzly with the individual carbide cutters on a spiral head.  SWEET operation!