alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description

Author Topic: Blade lube issue/problem  (Read 11788 times)

Offline furu

• Senior Contributor
Blade lube issue/problem
« on: May 10, 2015, 01:41:03 AM »
I have only been sawing for a little over a year now (16 months) so I am still learning.  
One problem I am still fighting is build up on the bottom of the blade.  My mill uses the drip system and I have wondered if the dual wipe style is better.  I think Cook's use that and only Cooks.
Problem I have been having is the outside/bottom of the blade gets a build up while the top/inside of the blade is clean as a whistle (whatever that means).   I have tried flow rates from a slow drip up to a steady flow that makes the sawdust so wet it tends to clog in the discharge chute.  I tried the windshield washer fluid and was not happy at all, left lots of buildup on the blade.  The Pinesol worked on the inside of the blade but gagged me from the smell (should it not smell like fresh cut pine, but no it smells like an oily disinfectant) but I digress.  I am pretty much now using dish-soap in solution.  It works well but only on the inside/top of the blade.

What are you all doing to keep the bottom/outside of the band from getting buildup?
Integrity is not just doing the right thing.
Integrity is not just doing the right thing when no one is looking.
Integrity is doing the right thing when no one else will ever even know.

Offline mountainlake

• Senior Contributor
Re: Blade lube issue/problem
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2015, 03:18:31 PM »