alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description

Author Topic: How would I build my own trailer  (Read 64072 times)

Offline Steve G.

• Senior Contributor
    • Way of the Master
How would I build my own trailer
« on: April 19, 2008, 09:46:22 PM »
Hey guys,

How would it be possible to build my own trailer? I am thinking of building a car/utility trailer so we can haul supplys and a also a kubota tractor from time to time weighing 7000lb. I would like to do it for under $1000. I need to know anything you know about building trailers, I have never built one before. Also what kind of welder should I get, from the research I've done I came to the conclusion that I would need a mig welder (what kind would be best?); either I'll rent one from the big orange or buy one for around $500. I have looked at plans online but haven't bought any yet. All suggestions and advice are helpful. Thanks in advance!

Steve
Do you think your a good person - find out!
http://www.wayofthemaster.com/

Offline Frank Pender - AKA "Tail Gunner"

• Administrator
  • Old Timers Club
    • www.TanglewoodTimber@aol.com
Re: How would I build my own trailer
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2008, 10:04:36 PM »
Well, Steve G, I would first shop around to see what is out there for already available trailers.  You might well be suprised at what you could and will find for around the dollars you are talking about. 

Offline Kirk Allen

• Administrator
  • Old Timers Club
  • In God We Trust!
    • Vindicator Nozzles
« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2008, 07:19:22 AM »
If your set on building, this is probably the best and least expensive source for parts. I used them for my axlles, tires, and lights.