alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description

Author Topic: New Guy & New Mill  (Read 13032 times)

Offline BlackHills

• BlackHills
  • New Contributor
  • Working smart is harder than you think!
    • Rough Cut Sawmill & Lumber Co.
New Guy & New Mill
« on: December 29, 2010, 01:08:28 PM »
Please allow me to introduce myself.  I'm Scott, owner of new Timberking 1220, still on it's way.  I've been using an alaska mill for last 20+ years to cut personal beams and whatever..  I built my own stick built home on top of the Beautiful Black Hills of South Dakota.  I'm at about 6800'.  I live on 50 acres of prime "gold" country land and own the mineral rights.  I built my home 13 years ago, and work from home.  I've been in the Real Estate business for 12 years. the construction industry for 10 years, I have a architectural design background from the US Army, i.e. Engineer!  I actually blew up more than I built! lol

My wife, Jeanne is a nurse midwife.  I purchased the 1220 with one extention so I can go to 19.5'  The last log I cut with a chainsaw was 33' x 12x12 and I probably could cut longer!  I want to mount my mill on a trailer frame, just in case I need to go remote, however I will probably just haul wood in, just never know.  anyway thought the frame would make a great way to add extentions for all the pine. "Pretty much all we have here, except for the exceptional downed elm or someother in town."

I want to  mini log cabin kits to sell to locals, something around 12 x 16 with dovetail ends using a 6v8 log.  I also want to cut large slabs to sell to locals.

Can't wait to learn more about all of you.. been reading alot alread.