alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description

Author Topic: How to dry wood without kiln?  (Read 6705 times)

Offline lauztuvass

• Contributor
How to dry wood without kiln?
« on: March 05, 2022, 03:36:20 AM »
Hello .
I bought some logs of spruce. Trees cut few days ago. So they are fresh. I will cut it to boards 150x30mm (~ 6 x 1.2in). I want to dry it but don't have a kiln. I will use board to cover hose from outside. I my country starting spring. Few questions:
1. How much moist can be in boards which I can use to cover house from outside?
2.  What conditions need for boards drying to avoid cranks? (then we drying not in the kiln) .

I have some experience with ash, birch, pine. They all was stored undercover from rain and snow. After two years , they all have about 14% of moist. Ash and birch have a lot of cranks. Ash and birch was stored inside building, they don't see sun. I my country a lot of masters of wood are talking that it is not good to dry wood on the sun.
Thanks for any help.

Offline Ox

• Senior Contributor
  • Trying to learn/remember something new every day.
Re: How to dry wood without kiln?
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2022, 10:46:04 AM »
Stack and sticker the boards on flat level ground out of direct sunlight.  Put something over the top of them to keep rain and snow off.  It'll be about a year until you can use them.  Paint the ends of the logs before you do anything else.  Just about anything will work - cheap spray paint is what I use.  The idea is to seal off the end grain of the log.  If you don't you risk deep cracking and checking on the ends of the boards you saw out as they dry. 

I hope this helps a little.