alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description alt image description

Author Topic: Sharpener and Setter reccomendations  (Read 26641 times)

Offline sawmill squaw

• Major Contributor
Sharpener and Setter reccomendations
« on: May 23, 2011, 11:03:41 AM »
Hello from E. Texas!
To start, I'm a newbie to this forum but it looks like a great place to get practical advice!  My husband bought a TK 1600 mill a little over a year ago and business is picking up.  Husband also refuses to enter the computer age, so I will plead y'all's patience with a wife who searches for information on the 'net.  I'm picking up info with time and experience.  My life's philosophy:  Ya don't know if ya don't ask.

Our situation and question:
We've been buying new blades and sending them to TK for resharpening.  This is getting rediculously expensive and we are looking to purchase a sharpener and a setter.  Also, the blades we've been sending in to be resharpened aren't always sharp.  One batch of a dozen blades, hubby went through first 4 in one log as they didn't seem to have been sharpened at all!  Any recommendations on quality equipment would be greatly appreciated.  We are also looking for the least expensive route since business is only now picking up.  I've looked at TK's sharpener and setter, talked with our salesman...but they have a 2 mth waiting period as they've only just now started manufacturing their own.  Looked at Cook's, Bailey's and Wood Mizer's. (was recommended in a post I read in this forum)